top of page

A 'scholared' observation


It is only in that moment when you realize that your students have your twisted sense of humour, that you don’t know whether to be scared or proud….

I don’t like to define myself, paradoxically because I am defined by my in-definitive views and a generally creative outlook. I like to think of myself as a creator, a visionary, and it is only with the frame of reference I have been fortunate enough to allow myself, that I view the world with a particular lens. One of assessment, engagement and understanding.

2015 has proclaimed me as a native English teacher in Seoul, South Korea- educating the untainted minds of elementary school kids. Teaching, as much as I am learning about alternate aspects, that which I was never particularly familiar with. I have always under-valued the profession, given its societal understandings and heirarchical underpinnings. It is only now that I truly understand the value and significance a teacher possesses, given its demanding and taxing requirements of simultaneously imparting knowledge, group managing, care-giving, entertaining, administrating, inspiring, and acting as a role-model.

With a logical and rational approach, I’ve illustrated -by means of a simple infographic- the observations and methodologies which I have harnessed -through designed lesson plans and a conscious classroom attitude- to make my classes more effective.

  1. The Evolution Game is a fun activity which promotes an active and participatory session of engagement where students’ have to answer questions in order to playfully “evolve” from a cockroach, to a chicken, to a monkey, and finally to a human being. It’s rather ironic as I often find myself following a similar evolutionary pattern when it comes to teaching grade three through to six, i.e: acting as energetically confused, dazed and annoying prove to be the best sort of engagement to younger kids who prefer action and energy over mindful and conversational exercises. This notion acts inversely when it comes to grade 6 as I’ve found that relationships are fostered more so by conversation and indifference. In other words, they find it dumb when I frantically pace across the classroom breaking out in song.

  2. Student interests (particularly in the school I teach at) vary according to factors pertaining to their age (of course) and the external influences they are exposed to. While typical cartoon characters such as Pororo and Doraemon critically engage with a grade 3’s interest, I find that grade 4’s engage more with group and pairing activities, grade 4’s with puzzles and riddles, while grade 6’s show more interest when exposed to factors of “coolth” such a western music, evocatively adorned movie stars, or some fickle or sarcastic commentary made by student to student (sometimes the teacher). Might I add, it is for this reason that I love my 6th graders.

  3. In accordance with the evolution game I find myself playing; verbal vs non-verbal communication (as a native English teacher attempting to communicate with Korean students’) acts inversely according to the grade level. Younger kids are engrossed by physicality and emotion, hence responding in a similar way. In the same breath, too much verbal instruction creates disinterest as the lesson appears to become rather tiresome and boring. Inversely, acting the fool with older kids just makes one come across as an over-grown buffoon. Verbal instruction and communication -be it on a professional or personal level- finds itself into the minds (and hopefully hearts) of these students. In other words, verbal manipulation and tact are key tools when ‘designing’ and maintaining a constructive and conducive classroom situation.

  4. In relation to the communication factor as stated above: it’s inevitable; if you’re classroom is running efficiently, you always find yourself either physically or mentally exhausted, expended, drained. The human battery calls for an urgent recharge as physical depletion occurs when teaching younger kids, and mental depletion caused by older kids. The former usually calls for a night blessed with inebriation and toxicity, often in Hongdae, or, wherever.

  5. The teacher | student relationship is a funny one; it changes so drastically given the few years of differentiation. Younger kids often look up to the teacher as a parent, seeking attention, love and guidance. Their vulnerable and naive perceptions allow them to react to affectionate sentiments of fondness and caring, while their inexperienced and untainted minds are tolerant and forgiving. They often respond to the teacher in isolation as each child -at this point- is not fully attuned with his/her social and hierarchical status within the broader context of a classroom. Teaching older kids, however, may be compared to a sordid game of Age of Empires. Fight till the death I say, in a situation where 6th graders often team up against you; well that’s if you show them any reason to. Cross one and you often cross them all; bribery will not as easily suffice. The need for attention and love is diverted and becomes a contest of popularity and coolth, especially amongst the defined groupings of students’ within a clearly established social (and academic) hierarchy. This is where the teacher needs to be tactful, and I suppose this is why….. I love my job.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page